Adding in Non-Workout Exercise

These past two weeks I’ve been doing a lot of work around my house (in and out). And have realized I don’t consider any of those activities a workout, but I’m probably burning decent calories. In fact, if I made some of that work a daily priority, I could workout LESS! Yippee! Not that I HATE working out, but let’s be honest, it can become pretty mundane. And let’s also be honest, whose house couldn’t use a little cleaning on the inside, yard work on the outside, or other general maintenance? Add a little in everyday, and it ups my daily movement as well as keeps my house in better shape. I’ve started tracking these “workouts,” and even staying on the conservative end, I’m surprised how many calories I burn. Hell, even “cooking” burns calories. I mean, I am standing up dicing, rolling, kneading, walking around, scrubbing and cleaning, loading and unloading the dishwasher. That’s better than watching TV, right?

Here are a few examples:

  • Half an hour of light housework/cleaning: 100 calories
  • Half an hour of yard work: 167 calories
  • Half an hour of painting: 133 calories

Compared to:

  • Half an hour of aerobics: 224
  • Half an hour of weight lifting: 134
Leave a Reply

