I Ordered FIRM Express!

I think I’ve mentioned a few times my favorite workouts are by The FIRM (followed closely by Cathe, but she makes a way more advanced video, and I need to work back up to her level). And I’ve done a LOT of videos. They’re the only ones that don’t annoy me. The only ones I stick to consistently. And the ONLY ones (besides Cathe, like I said, when I’m in better shape) that give me results.

Unfortunately, I’m on the other side of those results (read: I’ve gained most of my weight I’ve lost over the years back).

I have several of The FIRM’s systems: BSS1 (with the Fanny Lifter – this is my favorite series), BSS2 (with the stick), BSS3 (which I think is the incline box), TransFirmer (the improved box, which I LOVE), TransFirmation System (which I think is the one with cardio weights?), The Wave (the step that you flip over and it rocks), and also a bunch of their pre-BSS1 workouts, which I also like, but some of the moves go really fast – so I consider them more advanced.

And now? The FIRM Express! Which doesn’t require any separate equipment besides weights. There are 12 workouts, all 20 minutes a piece. You’re allegedly supposed to be able to do 3 workouts a week and see results. Although I’m sure those who exercise regularly will need to do more (many mention “stacking” the workouts). But some with more weight to lose or those that had fallen off the wagon, in both cases like me, sounded like they did just three workouts a week and saw results.

Here’s hoping! I really, really, really, really, really want to get back on the exercise wagon. I know I keep saying this. But my basement’s finally done, so I now have two places down there to workout. And since I don’t need a step or anything, I can pretty easily get a workout in with a few sets of weights without messing up my soon-to-be on the market house.

My goal? To eat as clean as I can, minus Christmas Eve, Christmas day, the day after Christmas and New Year’s Eve and see what I can do in 30 days! I know eating alone will see results. And adding working out without anything else will end up in results. But I really want to test myself!

I haven’t decided what I’m going to track publicly. I’m not sure if I’m comfortable posting my current weight. I’ve done that in the past, so I’m not sure what the problem is. My dad says people who post their weight and measurements see more results than those who hide their weight. So, we’ll see.

Update: I just got an email that my system has shipped!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. anonymous
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 12:03:51

    Would you be willing to review the workouts once you get them? I’m also interested in purchasing this program; but are still undecided.

    Thank you

    Reply

  2. stumbletowardhealth
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 12:52:18

    Yes, that’s the plan! Let me know if there are specific things you want me to consider as I’m doing the workouts. Hopefully they arrive soon!

    Reply

  3. anonymoustoo
    Jan 28, 2011 @ 16:31:09

    OH, I would LOVE to know how The Firm Express was for you. I use to do The Firm years ago and have since gained weight and am very out of shape. I was not sure if The Firm Express would be to advanced for me. Looking forward to hearing from you….

    Reply

    • stumbletowardhealth
      Jan 31, 2011 @ 12:03:15

      The program is NOT too hard for someone who hasn’t been working out. You can modify everything. I have been doing the program at about 4-5 workouts a week, though, and it’s not producing the results as advertised. So, don’t expect anything magical. I think you have to workout about 45 minutes a day 4 or 5 times a week to really see results working out. But maybe I’m wrong. I don’t think these workouts overall are any harder than the older Firms (my favorite Firms are the BSS1 videos). They have blasts that really take your breath away, but I think the videos themselves need to be longer to really produce results. I’m in the process of trying to get up to two workouts a day. And I’ll probably rotate in some of my older Firms as well. I like some of the videos (the sculpts are my favorite). But like I said, I really don’t think anyone will see the results they expect with just 20 minutes, three times a week. But I could be wrong! I hope someone does!

      Reply

  4. euter
    Apr 23, 2011 @ 20:01:07

    how much weight did you lose?

    Reply

  5. cassandra
    May 15, 2011 @ 08:52:16

    Wow i was thinking about trying this workout too!! I cant oder it till june! U said u didnt loose weight!? Do u think its the way u eat?? I need to start eating much cleaner! These workouts seem cool. Maybe we can be workout buddies!!

    Reply

    • stumbletowardhealth
      May 16, 2011 @ 16:25:15

      Well, I suppose it could have to do with eating. In fact, if I’d eat less all together, I’d probably lose weight, but I really don’t want to starve myself because then the weight will come right back. But I just posted something today about a heart rate monitor, and when I did one of these workouts (one of the ones I thought was more challenging – Alison’s sculpt workout), it took me over 13 minutes to get in my ‘heart rate zone’ and the workout’s only 20 minutes. So out of a 20 minute workout, only 7 minutes my heart rate was really up high enough to make me be in a good cardio/fat burning zone. I think THIS is the issue more than eating. Everyone can always eat better. But if I starve myself, I really can’t workout. And like I said, starving just leads to regain later. At least for me anyway.

      Reply

  6. someonewhounderstand
    Jun 25, 2011 @ 07:30:13

    Hello, have you read about The Food Lovers, it is advertised to help us (dealing with weight problem) to teach us how to eat the right food in order to accelerate our metabolism with out starving. I myself am trying different way that will help me to loos weight that I have gain due to health problems.

    Reply

  7. Shelley
    Jul 15, 2011 @ 01:33:37

    Hi, are you following the food plan that comes with the workouts? Are you eating a lot of carbs and sugar? Did you also contact the Firm to find out what you might be doing wrong?

    Reply

    • stumbletowardhealth
      Jul 18, 2011 @ 09:12:39

      I personally felt like the Firm’s included eating plan was just a restricted calories plan. So, yes, I am following that, but I’m not following food-for-food what they prescribe. I am NOT following the kickstart (or whatever the four day plan is) meal plan. That, to me, felt like a way too restricted plan. And restricting that many calories only sets me up for short-term success and I’m looking for long-term. I did post on Facebook my frustrations with the plan, including my feeling that as a fairly regular exerciser, I’d have to do at least two or maybe even three of these workouts to see any results. I never really got much back other than that their test subjects included Firm Believers who had been exercising for years.

      I finally bought a heart rate monitor and compared my heart rate, how fast I’d get into and how long I’d stay in my target zone, and overall calories burned. After doing this I quickly realized why I wasn’t losing weight (and in some cases was gaining). These workouts either didn’t get me into a high enough heart rate, and if it did, staying there was short lived and the recovery quickly pulled me back out of it. No matter how hard I’d work and push myself, I couldn’t keep my heart rate up high enough. I compared this to some other harder workout videos I was doing (like Cathe), or workouts like bike riding or jogging. And realized those workouts were going to be better for my long-term success.

      Bottom line for me was these workouts were beginner workouts and I’m more of an intermediate and maybe even advanced workout video person. The videos will be PERFECT for someone who’s just starting out. Someone who’s never lifted weights, or has been off of working out for quite awhile, or maybe never even worked out at all. The only things that will be challenging for that person will be some of the moves that put you down on the floor becuse I think your head going below your heart can be kind of taxing.

      Overall, I do like The Firm and what they stand for. I love how they’ve revolutionized using weights with their workouts. I’ve been Firming since 2002, and loved their BSS1 workouts, but since then it seems each workout package gets easier and easier. The videos I see the results with are BSS1 and maybe a few BSS2 workouts. Otherwise I have to go back to the “old Firms” to get the results I need. That doesn’t mean that’s true for everyone, but they’re definitely positioning themselves for the beginner workout. Whereas in the past they were definitely more of an intermediate or even advanced workout.

      Reply

  8. having trouble getting pregnant
    May 31, 2013 @ 08:55:46

    Can I put up your post to my weblog? I will add a inbound
    link to your forum. That’s one really candy post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

