Finally, Pictures And Initial Thought Of Firm Express

I wasn’t entirely sure what to take pictures of. It seemed silly to take pictures of the books that came with my Firm Express. But thought you might like a visual of how the DVDs are organized. The DVDs come in a cardboard-like book. It opens up like a book, then each side folds out again.

Here’s the front of the box.

On the left there’s a 4-Day Kick Start Plan. I pulled this out and can’t find it. I’m NOT doing this plan. I’m doing my own modified plan. Then on the right is the bonus DVD. This has the “Kick Start your Metabolism” stuff, which is the “Pump it UP!” workout (which I understand to be a 10 minute cardio/sculpt workout) and the “Shortcut to Flat Abs” workout. I’m not sure why they call the DVD one thing, and then have two separate videos on it. This makes everything confusing when talking about which workouts you did. But who am I to judge? :-) It seems like they were overly-specific on this DVD, but more vague on the others.

Here are the 12 actual workouts. Well, 11 of the 12. One of the workouts is in my DVD player. But you get the idea. It’s broken down into the four cycles: Ignite, Accelerate, Turbocharge, Overdrive. And then each cycle has three workouts: sculpt, cardio, cardio/sculpt.

And each cycle sticks with the same instructor:

  • Ignite is Emily
  • Accelerate is Rebekah
  • Turbocharge is Alison
  • Overdrive is Kelsie

Each workout is 20 minutes. And the beginner program says you only need to do one workout three times a week. So that’s 20 minutes, three times a week. And a lot of their success stories, they say this is all the person did. They’re not always really clear on how much (if at all) a person worked out regularly before, how much they changed their diets, etc. Originally I was really skeptical you’d see those kinds of results. But after doing the first three videos, I think you COULD see results if you’ve never worked out before AND are changing your diet.

I consider myself in an on again, off again relationship with working out. I used to workout 6 times a week, and now I’m back to one or two on a good week, but I do workout regularly enough that these workouts aren’t a shock to my system from the weights perspective, more from a cardio/endurance perspective. That IS where fat loss comes in, so we’ll see!

The 4 day kickstart was its own small guide. I was turned off by it because of the calorie restriction and the fact that you’re doing two workouts a day. The bigger guide has a more realistic eating plan (10 calories per pound you weigh). But the beginner workout plan didn’t seem like it would be enough to get me in a habit or see results. I decided to try to workout six times a week, one workout (20 minutes) a day. The nice thing is I can take the cardio workouts with me and don’t need any equipment. I’m probably going to go through the workouts by cycle, making up as I go along, doing just one workout per day, unless my endurance builds fast enough I want to do two a day before the 30 days is up. I’ll post the final calendar I did when I reach that point. I’ll weigh in and measure once a week.

Oh, and here are the Firm’s intermediate and advanced workout calendars. I assume they won’t mind if I post them here since I’m sure they want everyone to see the best results. But if someone minds, let me know and I’ll take them down.

For me, the beginner calendar was too little, but the intermediate seemed to be too much, at least at first. So, we’ll see where I am in 30 days!

Intermediate.

Advanced:

Note (Added 1/25/11): The Firm also posted on their Facebook page this “Beginner 2” workout calendar for those doing better than beginner but not ready for intermediate. That’s me. But this is pretty much what I’ve already been doing. I might need to force myself into the intermediate calendar. Or at least do two FEs a day, and work in other workouts. All I know is what I’m doing now ISN’T working!

Week 1

Monday: Cycle 1 Cardio+Sculpt
Tuesday: Cycle 1 Cardio
Wednesday: Cycle 1 Sculpt
Thursday: REST
Friday: Cycle 2 Cardio+Sculpt
Saturday: Cycle 2 Cardio
Sunday: REST

Week 2

Monday: Cycle 2 Sculpt
Tuesday: Cycle 3 Cardio
Wednesday: Cycle 3 Cardio+Sculpt
Thursday: REST
Friday: Cycle 3 Sculpt
Saturday: Cycle 4 Cardio
Sunday: REST

Week 3

Monday: Cycle 4 Cardio+Sculpt
Tuesday: Cycle 1 Cardio
Wednesday: Cycle 4
Thursday: REST
Friday: Cycle 1 Cardio+Sculpt
Saturday: Cycle 2 Cardio
Sunday: REST

Week 4

Monday: Cycle 1 Sculpt
Tuesday: Cycle 3 Cardio
Wednesday: Cycle 2 Cardio+Sculpt
Thursday: REST
Friday: Cycle 2 Sculpt
Saturday: Cycle 4 Cardio
Sunday: REST

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jen Newby
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 01:03:29

    I’m glad you posted this. I’m trying to get in the habit of 4-5 workouts a week and then once I’m doing that regularly, then maybe I’ll fork out the dough for this set. I’ve always liked the Firm workouts and the fact that these are 20 minutes is so doable. I’ll be anxious to hear how your results are going. GOOD LUCK and stick to it! We CAN lose this weight!!

    Reply

  2. Tany
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 15:40:22

    So I have TheFIRM CardioWeight System, but I lost my guide with the calender is there anyway I can find that?

    Reply

    • stumbletowardhealth
      Aug 01, 2011 @ 15:39:13

      I’m not sure what the CardioWeight System is. When I tried to look online two things came up. One was The Wave. And the other was the pink box of weights with like four workouts. Which one do you have? I have both of those sets (although I’m not sure I have the rotation calendars for either). Tell me the specific videos and I’ll see what I can find in my workout room.

      For the most part for a beginner you do about three workouts a week, but those are shorter workouts so you might be able to do 4-5 off the bat. If you can’t fit all of your workouts in a week, make sure you definitely get the cardio+sculpt workouts in. And when you get to enough days a week, do all workout. Eventually your goal should be to workout five to six times a week, giving yourself rest after sculpting days (with a rest day or a cardio workout). You should be sore for a day or even two after sculpting workouts, otherwise you need to up the weights.

      I do like the rotation calendars to get me started, so I understand where you’re coming from. But don’t let the lack of a calendar stop you from working out! Start with the cardio+sculpt workout, if you’re not sore the next day, do the sculpt workout. Then give yourself a day or two of rest or add in a cardio workout.

      If you’re a member of the Firm Believer’s Club, they used to have all of their rotation calendars listed on that site.

      Reply

  3. Jai
    Sep 23, 2011 @ 09:41:57

    This was very helpful! Thank you so much!

    Reply

  4. Ayisha
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 11:41:28

    I’m about to start this… thanks so much for this post!

    Reply

  5. Nora
    Jan 12, 2015 @ 12:10:22

    I am wondering if it is more beneficial to do multiple workouts back to back or one in the am and one in the pm? (advanced program)

    Reply

    • stumbletowardhealth
      Jan 17, 2015 @ 20:49:55

      Hi Nora! I am definitely not an expert, but I feel like it doesn’t really matter if it’s back-to-back or different times of day. I think you’d get the same results.

      Respect your body’s limits, and make the workout time count! Good luck!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

