Setting Goals

Well, I’ve kind of fallen off the workout wagon since Friday. I know, shame on me. But I’m back on tonight, and my first goal of the new year is to workout 4X a week. I can still hit that this week, so all is not lost! Speaking of goals, Dave Ramsey (one of my heroes) posted this discussion about goals. And I’ll break it down into a few specifics for easy reference, but if you’ve never listened to Dave, I think you’ll like him. He reminds me of my parents. Very straight forward, and unforgiving with excuses.

http://www.daveramsey.com/index.cfm?event=askdave/&intContentItemId=118722&text1

He talks about needing to set goals in seven areas of your life:

  1. Financial
  2. Intellectual
  3. Family
  4. Spiritual
  5. Physical
  6. Career
  7. Social

And each of those goals needs to:

  1. Be specific
  2. Be measurable
  3. Be YOUR goal (not something someone else wants you to do)
  4. Have a time limit
  5. Be written down

The example he gives is rather than, “I need to lose weight.” You need to be specific, “I need to lose 30 pounds.” But by when? “I need to lose 30 pounds in 3 months.” That means you’re losing 10 pounds a month, which is 2 1/2 pounds a week. And YOU have to want to lose weight. Don’t do it for someone else.

Set specific goals like these for EVERY aspect of your life. Write them down, and share them with people who will hold you accountable. I have every one of these goals done, but need to tweak a few, and add a spiritual one. Expect a goals post to follow!

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: 2011 Goals « Stumbling Toward Health

Leave a Reply

