My Favorite Food Tricks – Part One

I guess everyone has those things they do to stay on the healthy eating wagon. It’s definitely hard to fi d that balance between eating healthy and not feeling totally deprived. I’d love to hear what everyone else does as far as tricks go. Here are some of mine:

  • Soup– soup is a staple for me. Mostly chicken or beef broth based or tomato/vegetable soup based. I’m not a big soup out of the can girl, so I make mine homemade. Whether it’s chili, taco soup, white chili, hamburger vegetable soup, cheeseburger soup, potato soup, or whatever. I’ve found I can modify most soups to be healthier by adding more veggies, and stretch farther by doubling the broth. And I can make them quickly on the stove or let them simmer all day in the crockpot.
  • Sugar free pudding– this sounds so silly, but the sugar free pudding packs are sixty calories and almost always satisy my sweet tooth.
  • 2% milk fat cheese– I have no idea if people can actually tell the difference unless they’re eating the stuff plain, but I fricken live by low-fat cheese you save a ton of calories and still satisfy the cheese craving. I’m a huge cheese fan!
  • Fat free sour cream veggie dip– I am not one of “those people” who sits around eating raw veggies. I need something with them. And in this case, it’s a container of fat free sour cream and a packet of Hidden Valley Ranch “Dips” mix. Veggies don’t really keep me full but I like pairing them with something a little more substantial like peanut butter toast or even some cheese.
  • Laughing Cow cheese– speaking of cheese, if you haven’t tried Laughing Cow cheese, you should. I’m not entirely sure it’s cheese, but it’s creamy and delicious.
  • Nature’s Own light whole wheat bread– at fifty calories a slice AND whole wheat, this bread can’t be beat. M the queen of eating peanut butter toast. The carbs give me a burst of energy, the fat and protein in both the bread and peanut butter sustain me, and it hits both my sweet and salty tooth. I don’t do a ton of peanut butter (half a tbs per slice of bread), so two slices is a 200 calorie snack. Perfect!
  • Aunt Jemima Butter Lite syrup– syrup isn’t exactly a health food, but if you’re going to have syrup, this is the stuff to have. If I can “afford” the calories I will do real maple syrup, but for those times I can’t, this is the stuff I pick.

    That’s the end of my list for now! I know I have tons more, but that’s all I can think of.

Leave a Reply

