Protein Powder – Optimum Nutrition Platinum Hydrowhey

I finally broke down and bought more protein powder. I was rationing what was left of my current stuff (bought on a whim, with the help of a guy I’m pretty sure didn’t know what he was talking about), and only getting like 10 grams of protein after a workout. I wanted to do more research this time around and get the best protein powder for a girl. I wanted to avoid the extra calories guys use and need when they’re bulking up. And I wanted a shake specifically for AFTER a workout (again, to avoid the sugar in some of the pre-workout drinks). After a few suggestions from friends (all guys), and some research on sites like massnutrition.com (and links out to message boards on other sites), I finally settled on Optimum Nutrition’s Platinum Hydrowhey.I kept going back and forth on the Optimum Nutrition options, but ultimately I think I got persuaded by “If you can afford it, buy it.” I figured if I can get better protein in, I may as well spend a little extra on it. Was it worth it? I’m not enough of an expert to know. But I do know, it was one of the lowest calorie/sugar ones I could find that got really good reviews for how well it dissolves and tastes. So that alone makes it worth the money. Let’s face it, if it’s gross, I won’t use it.

Hopefully it’ll arrive soon! I ordered from Amazon (the cheapest place I could find it (although it has since gone up some), AND free shipping!). I had to take the strawberry flavor instead of vanilla, but that’s OK. I love strawberry, but normally choose vanilla so I can mix it with whatever I want. The only deal breaker was I don’t do chocolate. I’ll let you know how it turns out when it arrives in a few days!

Leave a Reply

