Foam Rollers

I know I’m a sucker for anything fitness. Is it sad I’m also way overweight despite this? ;-) Anyway, I watched a video on Gaiam about using foam rollers for a massage, muscle pain and flexibility. And I read this while I was in pain from my latest attempt at conquering the Couch to 5K program. So what did I do? I bought a kit (you can get them at more than Gaiam – I bought mine at an unnamed store that happens to be on my way home from work). I didn’t watch the video that came with the kit, rather I just used the insert that showed some moves as well as remembering the video on Gaiam. Mostly I massaged my back, shins, calves, hip flexors and attempted to get my illiotibial band (which was a hard one). I also worked a little on my hamstrings, quads and attempted the glute massage.

The result? First of all, ouch! I was sore in my upper body and especially my abs. For the first part of the day I couldn’t figure out what was wrong with me and I thought I was getting sick. Ha! But then I realized that my abs were sore, but my leg muscles were significantly better.

Last night after finishing day one of week three of the Couch to 5K, I could feel myself starting to get sore. So I reached for my foam roller (which I store conveniently in my living room for quick access). And in just a few minutes, while watching Roseanne on Netflix, I massaged my shins, calves and hip flexors.

And you know what? NOT sore today. My ankles are a little sore, but I don’t have the normal calf or hip soreness I usually have. And while I can’t usually feel the shin splints until I start running again, I suspect they’ll be better, too.

All hail the foam roller! Now, if only I can stay interested in using it consistently!

Leave a Reply

