Frustration Sets In

I am SO FRUSTRATED today. And I know I shouldn’t be, which I think makes me MORE frustrated! I had a bad week eating last week. I mean, I get that. I knew I probably wouldn’t lose weight. I’m on board. That’s fair. But I gained TWO POUNDS! After last week’s abysmal performance (where I lost less than a pound and thought it would be at least two). So by that math, I gained THREE POUNDS! Ugh. Here’s what really irks me: I work really hard for months, and lose around 2 pounds in three or four weeks. Then have one off week, and suddenly I’ve lost a month’s worth of work.

How is that fair?

OK, it’s NOT fair. This is the worst part of “dieting” and working out. You work your ass off to see limited results. Then you have one off week (which, if I’m not beating myself up wasn’t THAT bad, it just wasn’t as good as past weeks), and boom. All effort is lost.

This is where I normally fall off the wagon.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jen
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 09:58:09

    OMG!! Are you living my life or what?? I SO feel your pain. THIS is EXACTLY what happens to me! I was doing weight watchers since the day after Christmas. My hubby left for Afghanistan for 8.5 months and I swore I’d lose 50 lbs. while he’s gone. It’s now month 4 and I’ve lost zilch! lose 2 gain 1. gain another 2, lose 3. It’s been like that the whole time. i hate it. Yes, I cheat on my diet, so i have no one to blame but me. But you are exactly right that you bust your ass for a week, starve to then see a 1-2 lb. loss on the scale. The next week maybe go out to dinner a night and lunch one day, still try to be good even when going out but then weigh in and you’ve gained it back. That is when I give up too.
    So now, here’s my plan….I’ve canceled Weight Watchers, I never log and I’ve realized I have no idea how many calories I’m actually consuming nor where the calories are coming from. I’ve now joined http://www.sparkpeople.com and love the site. It’s free too! I log every bite I eat. Starting yesterday I hit the gym again and plan on going 5 days this week. I just use the elliptical there, so that’s where I do my cardio. Then at home I started a new training program Turbulence Training. (you can google it) I did the 1st work out yesterday. I’m sore today but not miserable. The workout is 3 days/week and only took me 20 minutes (then I did the 20 cardio minutes at the gym). So I think this is doable. But anyway, we’ll see how this goes. I haven’t been working out at all so I know that’s why I haven’t lost much. Weighed in today and I lost 2.3lbs. That’s just with 5 days of diet only. Although I did just return from a vacation that I overindulged on! ;) We’ll see what next week holds.
    Hang in there! I know how frustrating this is. It totally sucks. But we just have to remind ourselves that the weight didn’t come on overnight, so it won’t go away overnight either. (as much as I wish it would!) We can do this! One day at a time, right?! GOOD LUCK!

    Reply

    • stumbletowardhealth
      Apr 19, 2011 @ 17:10:35

      You’re exactly right, Jen! About all of it. The frustration. The slow loss. The hard work for weeks to be brought down by a few mistakes. It’s all so frustrating! I’ve been trying to eat healthy without policing myself too much or making myself crazy/obsessed with food. But after last week, I guess I need to get back to policing my food more.

      I have been working out. And that’s actually made me feel pretty good. I’m hoping to have a good week this week and make up for last week.

      And even though part of your husband’s deployment is already gone, you still have over half left! I have a few vacations coming up this summer and fall. Let’s hold each other accountable and see what we can do between now and… The first of September? Is that when he’d be back?

      I have my workout planned for tonight and found a recipe and side dish to make for dinner tonight (and freeze and have for leftovers). So here’s hoping I get back on the wagon before sabotaging myself for a whole month. Or six months!

      Good luck!

      Oh, and I was on sparkpeople.com for awhile. But I ended up getting bored with it, but I think because I didn’t really have anyone I knew to motivate me to login (like with things like Twitter, Facebook, etc.). I need to see if my profile still exists out there. Haha. It probably doesn’t.

      Reply

      • Jen
        Apr 19, 2011 @ 17:55:13

        He gets back sometime in August. I think the middle of the month, but that can always change. Yes, let’s hold each other accountable. if you can find yourself on sparkpeople, see if you can find me and add me as a friend there. I’m jennewby71 on there.

        You know what I hate about this dieting thing? It’s how much we focus on food. (the “policing”) How much and what we eat. I hate it. yes, it has to be done for weight loss, but then I think, am I’m going to have to do this the rest of my life? And I probably will have to. Obviously, if I’m 85lbs overweight, then I have no control.

        I hate this, it’s so hard. I want it so bad yet can never stick to it more than a few weeks. because like you, I give up when I feel like I’m working so hard yet the numbers aren’t moving. You would think as frustrated that I am, and as disappointed that I am with myself, and as disgusted with myself that I am I’d be able to do this. But it’s very hard…I just don’t know the answer. I don’t mean to be “Debbie-downer” here, but I’m just expressing the frustration that I feel and reading your post makes me feel that I’m not the only one. Sometimes I think it’s just me; that I’m a complete failure and I have no “stick-with-it-ness”. Something’s gotta change!

      • stumbletowardhealth
        Apr 21, 2011 @ 21:57:27

        I totally agree on the food focus thing. I hate thinking of being so regimented forever, but it’s what my mom does. She’s mostly “on” but still splurges on special occasions. She’s just better than me at not declaring averything a special occasion! :)

        Don’t get down. You will get there. Just like you told me, slow and steady. Keep focused on the big picture. It has to be tough, emotionally, with your husband away. Maybe think about the weight loss as a surprise for when he gets back? And reward yourself with some new outfits to greet him?

        What we need to do is learn to say the motivating stuff to ourselves that we say to each other and everyone else! ;)

Leave a Reply

