“If we defend our habits, we have no intention of quitting them.”

Oh, how this quote cuts me deep. I’m the queen of excuses. I blame my unwavering perfectionism. I always have to explain WHY I didn’t do something right when I do it wrong. Not to not take accountability for it, but to explain to the person I’ve let down (and myself) why. So that person (and I) is (am) not disappointed in me. And all these explanations are is excuses. And after awhile making the excuses also makes it OK to make the mistakes.

“It’s OK if I have fast food for breakfast. It’s just this once. And it’s not THAT bad.” (Do I ever eat a homemade breakfast with as many calories as the lowest calorie item I get through a drive thru? No.)

“After this week, I deserve to go out to dinner. And I’m doing it big!” (Except this is happening several times a week. Or day!)

“It’s not like having a few chips is that much different than having fruit, calories-wise.” (Except I only eat one serving of fruit. And about four of chips!)

“My family doesn’t get together that often.” (Yes we do.)

“It’s been a long day. I’ll workout tomorrow.” (Come on. My life is NOT hard. If I’m too tired, unorganized, etc. to workout. It’s MY fault. And usually I can make the workout work, but I’d rather sit around.)

All the little excuses add up to big problems. And when I defend my bad eating habits, over-eating, or
not working out, it somehow makes it OK. Obviously I know I should have done better if I’m making an excuse, but the excuse defends the action.

From now on, I’ll be honest with myself about what I’ve done. And work at NOT doing the wrong thing to begin with. The excuses for doing whatever I’m doing generally comes BEFORE I do it. It’s not like it’s mindless eating or not working out. I’m mindful of breaking a promise to myself. I rarely ever break promises to anyone else. I should hold myself in such high esteem.

Leave a Reply

