“The groundwork of all happiness is health.” -Leigh Hunt

Although I don’t base health on weight because I believe you can be fat and healthy or thin and unhealthy, I do believe that healthy means happy. Well, happier than if you were unhealthy. The healthier I am, the better I’m treating my body, the better mood I’m in. I’m not sluggish and depressed. My body’s more able to adapt to a lot of things, whether it’s playing with my nieces and nephews or cleaning my house. And in the long run, the healthier I am, the less I should have to go to the doctor, the less I worry about being able to stay mobile, the less medicines I should have to take. My body will respect me for respecting it.

Plus, if I’m not self-conscious about the extra weight I’m carrying, or have taken care of the way I look and feel, then I don’t have additional things to worry about on a day-to-day basis. Although I’m not even in the ‘obese’ category, plane rides sometimes make me self-conscious. When I’m down to a healthier weight, I don’t even think about it. So if I start to consider all of the things I think/worry about when I’m being unhealthy, they really do drag me down. Whether it’s feeling guilty (or judged!) for eating fast food, or being the friend who can’t keep up with everyone else on an active outing, being in shape and treating my body well always pays off.

So while being healthy may not make you happy, I believe you can’t be as happy as you would be without being healthy.

Leave a Reply

