“You must do the thing you think you cannot do.” -Eleanor Roosevelt

I love Elanor Roosevelt quotes. I wish I were as wise as she was! One quote I refer to all the time is her quote about how someone can’t make you feel inferior without your permission. So true. We get upset at those around us for bringing us down, when the truth is, they can’t bring us down unless we allow them to. And this quote is even more powerful for me when it comes to working out. When I first started working out in 2002, I felt very overwhelmed. I did some weight lifting in high school, but mostly took the class because it was a non-thinking class located near the parking lot the last period of the day. Yes, seriously. So when I bought my first Firm DVD I was overwhelmed and didn’t think I’d ever finish that first workout (Cardio Sculpt). But a few months later I finished it. And a few months after that, I was ready for a new challenge. And I decided that challenge was running. When I was in good shape in high school, I couldn’t finish a mile. Even when threatened with a non-passing grade if I didn’t accomplish a nine-minute mile (which I did with the infamous “run the straights, walk the curves”) , I still couldn’t bring myself to run for long stretches. I felt like I just didn’t have that gene in me. I could do “Hell Week” for basketball and volleyball, but couldn’t run a straight mile.

Well, until I did.

After I got past that first mile, I felt like I could run for forever. It was all mental. And I’m so glad I overcame that (and that first Firm DVD). Now I feel like there’s nothing fitness-wise I CAN’T do, except the things I tell myself I can’t do. Some things take some training, but I can do whatever I want. I’m lifting heavier weights than I ever thought possible (people are always impressed when they come into my workout room, one friend even said, “Are these an ex-boyfriend’s weights?”). And I’ve run farther than I ever dreamed I would.

So if you’re saying you can’t do something, realize you’re the only one holding you back.

Now, where are my running shoes?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jen
    May 20, 2011 @ 11:57:39

    Awesome post-thanks! I’m looking forward to many more!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

