Bike Riding Update – Lack of Weight Loss

Well, I am officially discouraged. I’ve burned over 3,000 calories in the past four days, not to mention the 1,000 the three before that, and this week’s weigh in? NOTHING. A big fat nothing. And that was after last week’s gain of 1 1/2 pounds. And riding my bike at least six days a week. What the hell?

And I’m sure it has to do with my eating. I’ve been using My Fitness Pal and it’s telling me if I keep going like I am, I’ll lose weight. On some days it tells me I’ll be down over 10 pounds in 5 weeks. Other times just a few pounds. But it’s NEVER up. And although I’m sure you think I’m sneaking through drive throughs or guzzling sugar-filled sodas, I’m not. I’m eating at home for almost all of my meals. When I do eat out I try to stay reasonable with what I order. I’m going out for a splurge dinner for the first time in weeks on Thursday.

And it’s hard to stay focused/motivated. I mean, I like how I feel when I workout. That’s for sure. So I’ll keep doing that. I LOVE riding my bike. And I’m still trying to get back into jogging so I can jog through the winter. I feel good eating more fruits, and really focusing on getting the micronutrients, minerals, vitamins, etc.

But it’s freaking annoying to not lose any weight. Even if it were a slow loss, I’d be OK. But nothing? In fact, a GAIN? Come on, universe. Throw a girl a bone!

And no, my clothes AREN’T fitting better. But thanks for asking. And although I’d like to believe it’s muscle, I’ve been told it’s really hard to build muscle that fast. So I doubt I’m building muscle to gain weight or replacing fat with muscle. I think I’m just stalled out.

I know, stay strong. Stay focused. And I’m really trying!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jennewby71
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 13:46:52

    I feel your pain. I’ve been there. Matter of fact I have 2 lbs. that I lose one week, the next week gain and the next week lose. Back and forth for MONTHS.

    One thing you can maybe try is to adjust your calories. maybe you are eating too few. Or maybe you should add a day in the week where you consume 1800-2000 calories. sometimes throwing you system for a loop by adding calories is a good thing. i know i try to stay around 1200-1400/day but occasionally I may go up to 2000. How many are you eating every day? another thing to try is increase your total to add 100 calories. Especially if you are working out so much. Or try decreasing your total 100. but i would think with you burning as much as you are maybe an increase is in need.

    Good luck and hang in there. What you are experiencing is the story of my life so I always end up quitting working out. If I bust my ass working out all week and eating right and then only lose 1 lb or none. I feel it isn’t worth it, so i give up. It’s so hard.

    Reply

    • stumbletowardhealth
      Jul 20, 2011 @ 18:09:28

      A few people have suggested I need to raise my calories. RIght now I’m probably eating around 1600-1800 calories, and am NEVER over-full. In fact, I’m hardly ever FULL, if that makes sense. Eating will make me feel less hungry, but I’ll always be a little hungry. I feel like those calories are probably already hihg for me. I can go down to 1400 for a day or maybe squeeze by with two, but then I end up binge eating. It’s just not enough calories for me.

      I wish there were a way to monitor my metabolism like I can my blood pressure and heart rate. I could say, “OK, at 2:00 I was starving and my metabolism dipped down to where it was non-existant. I need a snack there.” Or I could see if my metabolism jumps if I go up 100 calories a day. Or if it’s not worth it, and my best metabolism is actually at 1400. I go online and different sites tell me different things.

      Mostly I get that I SHOULD lose weight at up to 1800 calories, and could go down to 1500 calories safely to lose weight faster. So if I’m staying between 1500 and 1800, it doesn’t make sense. And I’m eating a lot of fruits and veggies to get vitamins and stuff. And guzzling water. And when I talked to my doctor she told me 1700 was a good range for my weight to lose.

      And I won’t pretend I have any type of thyroid problem or anything. I know it’s not that. I think the problem is I must be eating too much. I think I’m working out plenty, honestly. But who knows??

      Reply

Leave a Reply

