GMAFR – Day 1.5

Last night I rode fifteen miles on my bike. It was easily over 100 degrees, and I’ve never gone that far. So it was a challenge. My legs actually felt really good, but I got hot. Fast. When we turned to go the other direction I started to feel my hamstrings and glutes tense. I could temporarily stretch them by standing on one leg. They’d feel good for a second, then feel even more tired than before. When we finished riding it was getting dark and I didn’t feel awesome, so I didn’ stretch. Just strapped my bike to my car and headed home.

Big mistake. Big. Huge. ;-)

I got home and my glutes and hamstrings (and most specifically the part where the two connect) were tensed up like a charlie horse. It felt fine to walk on flat ground, but man, when I tried to go up my stairs? I felt like I wasn’t going to make it. I laid on my floor and tried to stretch, but everything was all tensed up. I finally took some ibuprofen and was able to stretch a little then realized I hadn’t taken my magnesium since Sunday. Eureka! I’ve been taking magnesium for just a few weeks, and bought it to deal with “muscle inflammation.” I tell you what, that was my saving grace last night to finally be able to get a little sleep. I took one more this morning, and feel pretty good.

I also watched “Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead” last night on Netflix. A few years ago a professional acquaintance I have asked me if I juiced and I said no. And she said, “Oh, not yet? You will.” I thought that was a little presumptuous. I’ve been making fruit smoothies in the mornings with frozen bananas and whatever fruit is on sale/in season, and I always think, “If I had a juicer, I could even throw in some veggies.” But her comment has made me not want to do it. Well, no more! That show has turned me around, and I want to get a juicer now. I don’t want to go on a juice fast (like they do on the show), but I swear those smoothies are the best thing I’ve done in the mornings. It’s all fruit and a little bit of an energy drink for liquid (although if I had juice of veggies, I wouldn’t need the energy drink for liquid). I try to do the more nutrient-dense foods, or power foods, like blueberries and strawberries. So adding in greens is probably the one thing I’m missing. I just need to pick out a juicer!

Well, that’s all. It was the end of a good day. I’m excited to see what day 2 brings!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jennewby71
    Aug 02, 2011 @ 10:59:31

    Great job on the biking! I haven’t heard of that movie, guess I’ll have to check it out. I don’t have a juicer but I do make “green smoothies” with just my blender. I use 1/2 C. almond milk, 1/2-1 banana, 1/2 C blueberries or mixed berries (I use frozen) and around 1-2 handfuls (cups) of fresh baby spinach 2 Tbsp ground flax seed and then additional water to thin out. You don’t even taste the spinach with the banana in there!

    Reply

    • stumbletowardhealth
      Aug 02, 2011 @ 18:03:58

      Thanks! The biking thing really was probably my biggest accomplishment so far since I started riding. I’m a little intimidated for next week’s 18 mile ride. Part of me wants to just straight up tackle 20 miles!

      My sister puts spinach in her smoothies like that. For some reason I can’t ever bring myself to, but just like juicing, I think it’s all in my head. I know you can’t taste it, but I imagine getting little bits of spinch. The consistency of stuff is big for me. So I figured if I juiced the veggies, then blended the fruits maybe I’d get the same consistency and flavor with more nutrients! I’m sure the juicer will be a big waste of money. But hopefully it’s not!

      I logged into my sparkpeople the other day. But I’m not sure how to search for you. Did you post your user name somewhere? Maybe it’s the same as your user name here! I’m going to look to add you!

      Reply

    • stumbletowardhealth
      Aug 02, 2011 @ 18:05:58

      OK, I added someone with your handle. Hopefully it’s you! I don’t have a picture or anything, yet. Haven’t dedicated much time to the page. But as I’ve been biking I realize I need to get back to my older Firm videos to get in some strength training. And I think sparkpeople is one of the only places that still has a Firm group!

      Reply

  2. david
    Aug 04, 2011 @ 11:15:54

    very nice blog, I am glad I found it

    Reply

Leave a Reply

