GMAFR – Day 2

OK, this post is coming the morning of day 3. I was so exhausted last night, I couldn’t focus on anything. My eating was so-so for the day, and I didn’t workout. But I was still sore from Monday’s ride, and I think that workout along with not sleeping very well Monday night added up. I had a good breakfast. And lunch wasn’t terrible (sushi and a salad). Dinner, though, was Ramen Noodles and crackers. Eek. I don’t even know where the Ramen Noodles came from, but luckily they were the last package. :-)

I weighed myself again this morning. I was .6 pounds higher than yesterday. And then measured myself. It’s only been about 1 1/2 months since my last measurements, but I thought MAYBE since I haven’t been losing any weight since starting to ride, maybe inches were coming off. I was wrong. So the measurements today have done nothing but bum me out. I mean, I think I KNEW I hadn’t lost any inches because my clothes weren’t any looser. My legs feel stronger (to the touch – they feel like they have more muscle mass), but they aren’t smaller. Bummer. And my body fat percentage hasn’t improved. So frustrating!

I ate a good breakfast this morning, but didn’t bring my lunch. Mostly out of frustration and exhaustion. I feel like the wind’s been sucked out of my sails!! Like I said, it wasn’t like I felt like I’d lost inches. But it does not make sense. Burning anywhere from 600-1200 calories per workout. Working out five to six times a week. And eating honestly pretty well. I really don’t want to starve myself, especially considering I’m trying to do the “no diet” diet. Meaning, an eating plan I can live with forever. I try to get in lots of fruits and veggies, almost everything is whole wheat/whole grain, and all lean meats and mostly low fat dairy products. I waver probably 20% of the time. But some “intuitive” programs give as much as 25 to 40% wiggle room. I am not eating to the point of misery. And I’m trying not to ever let myself get to the starving (and therefore bingeing) stage.

I don’t know what else to do! Other than give up on weight and inches lost and just focus on health? I know I need to lose about 30 pounds to be in a “healthy” weight range, so it’s hard for me to give up entirely.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jennewby71
    Aug 03, 2011 @ 10:46:24

    I’m sorry! :( I don’t know what the answer is. It’s so frustrating. My husband just returned from an 8 month deployment to Afghanistan. He started lifting weights while he was there. he has lost around 10-15 lbs but tried on his jeans and shorts that he left at home. they are all HUGE on him. He can probably pull the waistband out at least 3-4 inches. He pretty much needs a whole new wardrobe. he didn’t change how he ate much. he did say he is now eating lots of salads for lunches vs. unhealthy choices. We were talking last night since I’m so frustrated (as you are) that no matter what I do I seem to never lose weight so I always end up giving up. He was telling me that he eats pretty much whatever he wants because he works out 4-5 days a week. He is lifting lots of weights. So maybe that is the key too. I plan on starting it up again. It is amazing how much smaller he is just from lifting weights at this point, if I didn’t lose any weight but went down 3-4 sizes in clothes, i’d be fine with that!! Oh and another thing. Instead of “dieting” what I’m trying to do is just eat foods that are as close to their natural state. No processed foods. fruits, veggies, meats. I’m noticing that I can eat a larger quantity of food for lower calorie totals. So i don’t feel deprived. It’s an adjustment to get used to since I’m not much of a fruit and veggie eater, but I’m trying. Yesterday I had a large bowl of red grapes, strawberries and a banana and a piece of light string cheese and I was really stuffed afterwards. All for well under 300 calories. Dinner last night was a grilled chicken breast, grilled asparagus, grilled zucchini, and a baked potato topped with pico de gallo. I was so full all night I didn’t even want a snack later in the evening like I usually do. So anyway, maybe to go along with the “no diet” diet, just eat foods as close to their natural state and see how that works for you. Good luck!!

    Reply

    • stumbletowardhealth
      Aug 03, 2011 @ 16:53:41

      I have been eating fairly clean for the past few months. Of course, when I see no results, I go back to not good foods when I give up! :-) I have been lifting weights, but maybe I need to be doing a more structured routine (my BSS1 and BSS2 and older Firm tapes). I’m going to try to do two full body strength workouts a week to add to my biking.

      And I was using My Fitness Pal to track my calories, but it was too confusing because instead of giving me 1700 calories like I think I need, it was giving me 1200 then adding calories as I worked out. But most days I burn between 700-1200 calories on the bike, so that makes what I’m allowed to eat between 1900 and like 2400. It woudl always tell me I was going to lose weight, but obviously wasn’t.

      So I’m going back to 1700 calories. And doing two Firm sculpt or cardio+sculpt tapes per week. My favorites are Cardio Sculpt and Body Sculpt from BSS1. But I also like the older firms and a few of the ones from BSS2.

      If this doesn’t work, I guess at least I FEEL better! :-) And I’d be perfectly OK with staying the same weight if I were losing inches, too!

      Reply

    • stumbletowardhealth
      Aug 03, 2011 @ 17:04:25

      Oh, and I don’ tknow if this will help you, but the way I’ve talked myself into eating more fruits and veggies is reminding myself of the nutrients in those things and how being deficient of certain nutrients can cause you to get sick, feel tired, feel older than you are, etc. Feeling good/young/energetic is a big deal for me, so that’s somehow motivated me to keep lots of fruits and veggies in my diet. And is a big motivation for why I bought the juicer (so I could easily add even more variety to my morning fruit smoothie).

      And the same idea is what got me over the white vs. wheat bread/pasta, etc. hump. I used to HATE anything wheat. I thought it tasted dry and grainy. Now I eat white pasta or bread and it tastes mushy and bland. It’s all a matter, for me anyway, of adjusting to it.

      My problem with fruits and veggies is eating up what I buy. So that’s another reason I wanted to use the juicer. I LOVE my smoothie in the morning, and it’s all fruits (no milk or yogurt or ice cream or anything – sometimes if I need more liquid I add part of the energy drink I drink but now I’ll be able to add veggie juice for liquid!), and I feel so good the rest of the day when I drink one. If I skip it for whatever reason, I feel tired all day. When i pay attention to stuff like that, it makes me stick to my changes, too.

      My smoothie that I do is:

      3/4 of a frozen banana (this is what gives it the smoothie consistency)
      5 or 6 medium strawberries
      a handful of blueberries (probably about 1/4 or 1/3 cup)
      And then cubed up pieces of whatever other fruit I have. Yesterday I did a whole plum. Today I did about 8 cubes of cantaloupe.

      And I probably use about 1/3-1/2 cup of liquid. The banana gives it this really creamy consistency. I don’t even use ice (and like it less with ice). So for me, the banana’s the key. But the Aldi’s near my house sells them in bulk for cheap. :-)

      Oh! And I LOVE pico! Did you make your own recipe? The grocery store near my house sells the best stuff on their salad bar and try as I might, I can’t seem to recreate it! I don’t know what the do to make it so good. So if yo uhave a recipe, you should share it! :-)

      Reply

  2. jennewby71
    Aug 04, 2011 @ 12:12:06

    That smoothie sounds great! i’m going to make one today for a snack.I don’t have a pico recipe. i just buy the store’s fresh pico that is usually near the deli counter. I did make a good salsa but it’s not a pico one. I got the recipe here: http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2010/01/restaurant-style-salsa/
    This is a “restaurant style salsa” But she does have a pico recipe, I just haven’t tried it yet. i’m sure it’s great seeing how all her stuff usually is! Here’s her pico recipe: http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2007/06/pico_de_gallo_a/

    Oh and I LOVE the old BSS1 and 2. The only thing I hate is that they are an hour long! and they kill me! but they are sooooo good!

    Reply

    • stumbletowardhealth
      Aug 04, 2011 @ 13:04:24

      That’s so funny! That’s the salsa recipe I live by. Well, I add like three or four entire jalapenos to make it more spicy. And I usually do at least a half if not a whole onion and a little more garlic. But otherwise, I LOVE that recipe. It makes a nice big dish that I can use on almost everything! Plus, I like that it’s actually canned tomatoes so I can have it year-around!

      Those BSS1 and BSS2 workouts kill me, too. I figure I used to do the entire thing before, so I should be able to get back to doing them now. They’re just killer!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

