Recipes For Pulp

Well, that wasn’t hard. In fact, I found a few ideas on one site! I’m going to copy them here for quick reference, and to add some of my own notes.

Soup in a blender

Ingredients:

14 oz. can of chicken stock or broth
pulp from 2 carrots
pulp from 1 zucchini
pulp from 1 bell pepper
pulp from 2 stalks celery

Directions:

The pulp from these vegetables can come from any number of juicing recipes. Other common additions include tomato pulp, onion pulp, beet pulp or squash pulp. Basically, you just dump all the pulp in a blender with the chicken broth and pulse until fine. Then you can put the soup into a saucepan and bring it to a boil. You may or may not want to add some chunkier cooked vegetable pieces as well to the mix afterwards, or even some cooked chicken.

Makes about 2 cups of soup.

My notes:

First, I think the idea for this soup is good, but I think even better will be just adding this pulp to others of my favorite soups like vegetable soup, chicken noodle soup or chili. Will the fiber from the pulp break down? What will happen to it? It’s all a mystery to me! But I assume if nothing else, it’ll add flavor.

Pasta Sauce

Ingredients:

2 cups tomato pulp
1/2 cup carrot pulp
1 tsp garlic pulp
1/4 cup olive oil
6-8 mushrooms, sliced
1/2 an onion, sliced
1 15 ounce can of tomato sauce
1 tsp oregano or other italian seasoning
salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Heat up the olive oil in a large pot. Add the garlic and cook over low heat for a minute or so (don’t burn it). Add mushrooms and onions and cook for a few more minutes.

Add tomato sauce, tomato pulp, carrot pulp, oregano, pepper and salt. Bring it to a boil and then reduce the heat. You want to cook this for at least half an hour to let the flavors meld, a longer time like an hour is probably better.

Makes about 5 cups of sauce or so. If you need some meat in it, you can cook up some ground beef or pork and add that to the sauce after draining it.

My notes:

I don’t really have a pasta sauce recipe I love. So I’m hopeful adding the pulp of veggies will give me something better to work with. I know freezing pasta sauce (and soups) is very easy and works well. So here’s hoping I can make a good freezer meal out of pulp! I imagine any veggie would be good in all of these options. Maybe I’ll save pulp for the week and on the weekend make a few different dishes with pulp.

Carrot Pulp Muffins

Ingredients:

3.5 cups carrot pulp
1 cup pineapple pulp
3 cups whole-grain flour
1 cup canola oil
1 cup honey
6 egg whites
1 tbsp vanilla
1 tbsp baking soda
2 tbsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
1 cup crushed nuts

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 350 deg. Mix up the pulp from carrots and pineapple well. Add egg whites, honey, vanilla and oil to the mix. Sift the flour, baking soda, cinnamon and nutmeg together and add it gradually to mixture, stirring until it’s blended. Mix in the nuts.

Pour the batter into greased muffin cups making sure to leave some room (about 1/4 from the top) for expansion. Bake for 45 minutes.

Makes a dozen muffins.

My notes

OK, I love this idea! And I feel like I could probably stick almost any fruit pulp in the muffins since all pulp is similar. I could add this to probably any muffin or cookie recipe. And if it’s a bust, it’s not like those things are too expensive to make. At the very least, my snacks will have fresh fruit pulp in them, and be homemade.

Leave a Reply

