Juice Fast Fail

OK, I’m embarrassed I even wrote about this juice fast because it’s turning into an embarrassing failure. First, I think I maybe could have done it, had I started with a week off of work and anything else in my life. I’m so tired and having a terrible time focusing. And if I could sleep when I feel awful, I might be able to pull through.

Second, I want to keep up with working out. At this pace, I have canceled two workouts already, one was with two friends. So I decided I’d rather fuel my body than punish myself for what will probably be temporary gains.

I am going to go back to my original plan: using the juicer to add vegetables to my morning smoothie. And I’m also going to try to go almost entirely whole foods, which I was half-heartedly doing before. I am weighing the possiblility of replacing one meal a day with juice, but haven’t made a decision on that, yet.

Somtimes I tend to get into these drastic mindsets, like this fast, and don’t do enough research to determine whether or not it’s healthy. And the frustrating thing is some sites say it’s healthy. Some say it won’t hurt you but you wo’t get much out of it. Others say it’s never good to fast totally. So who knows? All I know is I feel like my body’s starving, and it doesn’t FEEL healthy. So I’m backing down. Letting the juice fast win!

My other goal is to not have such carb-based meals. That’s something I’ve always struggled with. And I’d like to cut back to meat just a few times a week, and up my beans intake to make up for it. So there are a lot of things I can be doing to improve my diet outside of this fast.

The only good thing was that I seemed to be dropping some weight pretty quickly with this. But would it have been sustainable? Probably not.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jennewby71
    Aug 10, 2011 @ 23:57:28

    I’m just back from a trip to Disneyland for a few days so I got to read all these posts just at once. After I saw the initial one of you “thinking about a juice fast” I was like, “NOOOOOOOOOOOOO” But I also saw your other posts after so i know you attempted it. I think any kind of a fast or detox just isn’t good. It’s hard to do and honestly, if you are eating fairly healthy your liver does the job of detoxing that it’s supposed to do all on it’s own. Yes, you probably can and will lose weight initially but in no way is it sustainable. So I think trying it for a couple days is good, but now you know it’s just not for you. i don’t even know how you did for as long as you did! I attempt Slimfast all the time and that’s just subbing 2 meals a day with a shake and it’s so hard for me! So don’t look at it as a failure. Look at is as an accomplishment to even do it for as long as you did! ;)

    Reply

    • stumbletowardhealth
      Aug 11, 2011 @ 18:14:51

      Welcome back from your trip!! I hopey ou had a great time! I just relalized you probably have a blog if you’re on WordPress. I bet your name links to it. I should check it out and keep up with your adventures!

      Thanks for being so positive! I really didn’t want to do it at first b/c I knew it would be hard and wasn’t sold that it was healthy. And I didn’t buy my juicer for that reason. But I told the guy at work I’d try it with him, and figured at least it would give me a change to start eating better. And it has! I stopped pretty much as soon as I felt awful, and I actually had a really great bike ride last night. So if nothing else, getting all of those nutrients gave me some good changes, and it’s motivated me to keep on fruits and veggies everyday.

      And I’m on a totally whole foods kick right now. I know that can’t last forever (Saturday I have dinner with the family and think it’s rude to bring my own food or modify too much since my mom cooks healthy). So I’ll eat whatever they have there and won’t feel bad.

      Today my diet’s been as clean as it’s ever been! I had a gigantic bowl of fruit all day at my desk that I finally finished. I had that spicy rice and black beans mixture I like with an egg and part of an avocado for breakfast. A huge salad with the same rice/beans/salsa and some more avocado for lunch. And I have vegan chili in the crockpot for dinner and am making “oven fried” zucchini with it instead of chips. And it’s coated in a whole wheat/white flour mixture, seasonings, corn meal and the oil is just cooking spray. So hopefully that all turns out good! I always either steam broccoli and cauliflower or grill onions/peppers/mushrooms/zucchini. So I’m excited for a new way to get some veggies. And since my soup’s low-cal, I can afford the “breading” on the zucchini.

      Reply

  2. jennewby71
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 20:39:07

    yumm…sounds good! I’ve been eating like crap with being at Disneyland for 3 days and then home to a mess and unpacking etc. So we had Chinese food tonight and I didn’t even go for healthy options. i went all out. Oh well. Plus top it all off I have a bad cold and feel like crap and can’t exercise with the hacking I’ve been doing. hopefully in a couple days I’ll get back into the jogging. i need it bad.

    I have my family webpage, which you found that i’m real bad at keeping up with! And I have a quilting blog that I’m better about posting to, but it’s mainly all crafty stuff that I do. That one is: http://littlescrapsofhappiness.blogspot.com/ But if you aren’t into crafty stuff then this one will be quite a bore for you! ;)

    Reply

  3. stumbletowardhealth
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 11:13:14

    I love vacations, but hate what it’s like to come home to. I swear it takes me a week to get unpacked, laundry done, adjusted, grocery shopping done for meals, then the organization to actually cook. And I’m single. I don’t have to adjust an entire family! So I don’t think you should feel bad for the Chinese food! Just get back on track as soon as you can, even if it’s more convenient healthier foods (like sandwiches even).

    As for working out when I’m sick. I HATE that. It seems like as soon as I get in a good groove, I get sick, then lose my habit of working out. I hope you get to feeling better soon!

    As for your site, I am NOT crafty at all, but LOVE quilts and always dream of making a quilt someday, but don’t know if I have it in me. I looked at your site and it made me want to be creative and motivated enough to make a quilt. Do you have machines to do them? Or do them by hand? I have an aunt who makes quilts for her grandkids, and she does everything by hand! But I’m pretty sure there are also machines to help the process along.

    Reply

  4. jennewby71
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 11:38:42

    I make my quilts by machine. Although i have hand quilted a small baby quilt and that was fun too. But I use a sewing machine. I don’t have the time or patience to do it all by hand. Quilting has turned in to an obsession for me though. I love it! you should try!

    Reply

  5. stumbletowardhealth
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 16:15:20

    I really want to! I’ll add it to my list of things to try. I do have a sewing machine. My mom used to sew all the time when we were kids, so I think it’s kind of soothing to sew… Until I make a mistake!

    I think the biggest thing stopping me is knowing HOW! I just need to get started probably!

    Reply

  6. Mom
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 10:54:04

    I’m just a day into my juice fast and feel terrible. I have a headache and am so tired. Plus, I’m starving. I guess I’m looking for permission to quit.

    Reply

    • stumbletowardhealth
      Jul 18, 2012 @ 15:39:50

      Yes, it’s ok to quit. You aren’t doing your body any favors starving it. I’m embarrassed I even tried a juice fast. It’s nothing but a fad diet. Your body has plenty of built-in detoxification processes. That’s all you need. Focus, instead, on eating real food, plenty of fruits and veggies, and less processed stuff. That’s what we need for overall health!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

