Ugh – Walking

I hate walking unless I’m walking with someone. But that’s not the issue here. The issue is with my stamina and walking. WALKING! I can do workout videos that go 45 minutes. I can ride my bike for 2 hours straight. I can lift a good amount of weight for a girl. But walking was winding me today. I decided I can’t have any more of this. It’s embarrassing and makes me feel heavier than I am (which I know is overweight, but I’m not so overweight I can’t walk without getting winded, right?).

I decided I’ve focused so much on upping my biking distance/time/stamina that I haven’t spent any of my summer running or walking. And I think my issue is walking uses different muscles than biking. So it’s official, people! With my 20 mile bike goal met, I need a new goal. So this is my new goal! 5K by October 14th, and I’ll run an official 5K on the 22nd.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I’ve run a 5K before. But I haven’t been able to run one in awhile. I actually enjoy running if I can get into it and do it regularly. For awhile I was only doing Firm videos and jogging 2 miles twice a week. So the increase from 2 miles to 3.1 was a challenge, but not overwhelming.

For this challenge, I’ll be using the famous Couch to 5K program. I’ve used this program before, and it’s what I used as a guideline to meerly get INTO running. A friend of mine told me to go to a track and walk the straights and run the curves. Then when I felt read walk one straight run a curve and a straight and a curve. But it wasn’t really working out because getting to the track was a challenge. So ANOTHER friend told me to use this program and work up to wahtever I wanted to do. At that time it was one single mile. Yes, I was well into my mid-twenties before I ever ran my FIRST mile! Well, wait. I think it was maybe 2003 or 2004.  So 23 to 25. I still remember the first time I made it one mile. It was in my hometown on Main Street! I was like, “Wait! I don’t even need to stop!” At that point I switched to running one city block, walking one city block (in that town blocks were short). Then increased to walking one, running two and so on. Until one day I walked to warm up, then never stopped running. Well, you know, until a mile. It’s not like Im still running right now. Although I wish I were!

And at the time I realized that one mile was such a mental barrier I quickly jumped from one mile up to 1.5, then up to 1.8 (the path I normally ran). And at that point added on some culdesacs to make my distance 2 miles.

So that’s the history of my running.

Not too long ago I ran a full mile, so I know I have that much in me. Then I got distracted by my bike and this heat. But tonight I’d love to go out and see what I can do. I think I’m going to start on week 4 because I’ve found with other times I’ve done this plan that too much walking to jogging transitions give me shin splints. If I can’t do week 4, I’ll fall back to whatever week I think I CAN start with, and get going.

Wish me luck!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jennewby71
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 23:54:08

    Good Luck! You can do it!!

    Let me tell you a little about me and my running ability. maybe it will motivate and encourage you a little.

    I could NEVER run. I remember in Jr. High having to run a mile in PE and i had to walk it. i wasn’t overweight then. In high school I never was able to run a mile still not overweight. I’d walk the straights and run the curves on the track. i was never interested in running or jogging. I never even attempted it again until in my mid 20s. i bought a treadmill and I don’t think I ever even ran a whole mile on that in the 5 plus years I owned it. I just couldn’t run. I’d try, i wouldn’t make it, so i’d give up. i found a walk to run a 5k program in one of my fitness magazines. it was an 8 week program, which I liked vs. the 10-12 week programs I frequently see. i tried it on the treadmill so i could gauge the “walk 2 minutes, run 2 minutes” business. i got shin splints. so I gave up. I’m now 39, turning 40 in Nov. I’m 5’8″ and weigh 236 lbs. the heaviest i’ve ever been. My husband always told me, “quit the walking x amount of minutes and running x amount of minutes. Just go out there and run.” Like it’s so easy! ok, right, no problem! Whatever. i never listened to him.

    So you know how i’ve been kinda jogging now? Well I tried doing it outside this time. no treadmills. I’ve finally realized I can NOT run on a treadmill. i get too bored and I hate it b.c i constantly focus on how far I’ve gone. The first time out, i tried walking most with a few couple minute jogs in there. SHIN SPLINTS again! I’ve been fitted for good running shoes by a specialty running store. So the next time I went out, i said, “screw it. i’m jogging until I have to stop. Then I’ll walk” IT WORKED! I just went out there an jogged. I went 25 minutes straight until i had to walk. I then walked 1 minute and jogged another 10 for a total of 35 minutes of running and 1 minute of walking! HUGE accomplishment for me! I ran 3 days in a row. 36 minutes the 1st day, 45 the second and 54 the 3rd. The 2nd and 3rd day there were more stops for 1 minute walks but that was b/c I thighs were rather sore. I was hesitant to run 3 days in a row. But again, after talking to my husband, he said “go for it. if you have to walk a little more, that’s ok, just do what feels ok.” so i did it! He reminds me that when he went to Officer’s Candidate School (boot camp for Naval officer’s, basically) he had to run every single day for 3 months 5 or 6 days a week. He was totally out of shape when he went, never ran since high school several years before, and they all had to do it. it wasn’t an option to “not run”.

    So I think of that when i head out. i don’t go fast. I have no idea how many miles I run, i only aim at minutes. I wear my heart rate monitor and I’m at my high target rate within a couple minutes and I just go. I run until I absolutely feel like there is no way to continue, then I walk and I only walk until I can catch my breath a bit and then I jog again…and so on. it works for me. And i realize after just a few times running I can go longer and further w/out stops.

    You CAN do it! just go for it! you don’t need to be fast. Just aim for a set amount of minutes. Who cares in the beginning how far you go. You’ll eventually build speed and distance and you get more conditioned! hope my story helps! Oh and I’m no expert and i could be going about it all wrong, but it’s working for me! I’ve been sick for the past few days and I haven’t gone jogging in a week. i’m going to attempt a run tomorrow afternoon. We’ll see how it goes since it’s been a while and I’m still not 100% over this cold, but i gotta go do something and i think it will make me feel better. I’ll keep you posted!

    Reply

  2. stumbletowardhealth
    Aug 15, 2011 @ 15:29:24

    Our running stories are so similar! I had a “questionable” (read: cheating) incident in my health class. I actually wasn’t cheating but did have a cheat sheet near me that I COULD have used. Anyway, I failed that test with a 0 and worked my butt off to recover. It was the end of the semester and my teacher said he’d give me a C if I did a 9 minute mile. I was in tears as I said, “I can’t run a mile.” He said, “Sure you can. You’re in good shape.” And I said, “I can’t run. I can only run short distances. I haven’t ever been able to run a whole mile.” He tried to convince me it was a mind block (because I was about 135 pounds at the time and scored well in all other health-related stuff except for pullups). Anyway, he finally said, “Look, run as hard as you can on the straights. Keep walking as fast as you can on the curves. You’ll get it.

    When I crossed the line at 9:52 I was so defeated. Until he told me, “That’s a nine minute mile. Anything under 10 is considered nine minutes.” I made it by 8 seconds. After that, long-distance running made me think of that time. Heck, it still does! When I ran my frist mile I thought of that teacher! But I think that’s why it took me so long to decide to conquer.

    The farthest I’ve ever run without stopping is around 4 miles. Otherwise, for the most part I’m really happy doing 2 miles two or three times a week. It’s an extra punch of cardio. And I don’t want to wear my joints too much.

    I did the first day of week four of the couch to 5K on Friday. It was a struggle. I’ll do the same workout tonight since all three workouts for week four are identical. And I want to get in an upper-body workout. I’m signing up a team for a volleyball league that starts in September. I’d love to be in good strength in both legs AND arms! My legs feel so strong from biking (although I’m not sure how that translates to jumping). So I want to focus some on upper body too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

