My Current Favorite Blog!

If you know me, you know I don’t do “favorites.” I have lots of favorites. It’s something I inherited from my mom. She doesn’t know why you can only have one favorite (the definition of the word doesn’t phase her). So I’ve adopted her liberal favoritism. And it’s bliss not being precise for once!

Anyway, I can’t get enough of this blog and am slowly reading through it in my off time. I’ve found the author (I should probably look up her name!) to be inspiring, down to earth, and very relatable. She’s lost a bunch of weight (Don’t you like how my lack of precise is carrying through this entry? It’s like I’m free of my perfectionist demons for one full entry!), and talks about it both in current terms (where she is now, maintaining) and how she felt in the past. And as I read through the blog, I will get to see into her past.

I’m not very far into it and here are six (yes, excessive) of my very favorite posts:

  • The Motivation To Get Started – Talking about how she initially started her journey. And the best part is she didn’t have an “aha” moment. I didn’t really either, although I’ve always searched for one.
  • This one talks about lifestyle change vs. diet. I’ve been on a few “diets” and have known they weren’t long-term. Now I’m just trying to do something I can stick to all the time, which includes eating whatever I want, but mostly eating and focusing on health and fueling my body. I love how she says people who say they can’t stop at one cookie either need to choose to, or if they really can’t seek help. I agree wholeheartedly. And I think these excuses are reinforced by people around us who claim the same thing, and we help each other spiral.
  • I LOVE this post on calorie counting. It’s somewhat frustrating because where she is with being beyond counting calories because she did it for so long is where I once was. But at the same time it inspires me to get back there!
  • And then these two posts are how I found the blog. One talks about the FIFTY things she DIDN’T do to lose 125 pounds. And as a companion, the other talks about the 125 (yes 125) things she DID do. And isn’t it funny that this is how I found the blog, yet I don’t remember how much weight she lost. Hey, maybe my loss of perfectionist tendencies will be good for my weight loss!
  • And this one is good for motivation and random diet tips. It’s fun how she compiled them over time, then put them into one post. A fun, quick read. And one to go back to when you’re looking for some type of motivation or tips or whatnot. Hey, I always need that!

So there it is. I’m going to read this blog until I get to the beginning. I’m excited for the adventure! She’s definitely motivating and I love how realistic and down to earth she is without being bubbly and annoying. Sorry bubbly and annoying people. The weight loss journey is a challenge to get on board with. Don’t just make it sound like it’s easy. Because if it is, you’ve never struggled with it. And if it isn’t, then don’t pretend it is. That’s my rant for the day! Cheers!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Colline
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 16:35:37

    How perfect to have found someone you can resonate with and who can motivate you.

    Reply

  2. K8
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 17:45:51

    Wow! Thanks so much! I’ve been writing my blog exactly for people like you and I’m SO happy to hear you like it and my writing. This is one of the nicest posts I’ve ever read about my blog, so thank you very much. I will post it on my facebook page (there’s a link on the top right side of my blog to that) because I am so proud!
    BTW, my name is Kate Pittman and I used to weigh 287 pounds. I weigh 163 pounds now and I’m just working on maintaining/building muscle/practicing yoga/enjoying life! It truly is a journey worth taking.
    Thanks again,
    Kate

    Reply

    • stumbletowardhealth
      Aug 26, 2011 @ 13:25:47

      Oh! And I also ordered a new yoga video because of you. Am I teetering into “stalking?” :-) You really are a great writer (not that I need to tell you that), and your down to earth style is really something I can relate to. Thanks for all of your work. I continued reading on your blog last night and I sent a link to the obesity epedimic one (the one with the pictures of the states) to a personal trainer friend of mine. He’s always been in really good shape, and I think he might have a hard time relating to how hard it really is when you struggle with weight, or even worse the first parts of working out when you’re so out of shape it’s painful, unmotivating, and for me anyway, embarrassing that you’ve let yourself get so out of shape.

      I also forwarded another post (it was something like your advice part 1 or something “part 1”) talking about how you got started, what you did, etc. to my sister. She and I have been trying to get healthier together.

      I can’t wait to keep reading! Thanks for all you do! I know sites like yours are a labor of love. Partially they keep you motivated, and partially you feel obligated to your fans. Keep it up! I hope someday you branch out into even bigger and better things! I saw you say you might like to be a personal trainer. There’s a lady at the Y I used to go to who also lost over 100 pounds. I paid for one of her sessions one time, and she was the best trainer I ever had! It was like she knew how to tell what my limit was and pushed me to get there. Other trainers under-estimated me (probably because of my weight, because they saw that and not my condition – one even said, “Wow, I’m impressed with how fare you can run!” I know he didn’t mean it to be insulting, but it kind of was). Anyway, I encourage you to do that! I think girls like me would be more comfortable in a gym setting with trainers like you!

      And I also hope to see your writing in bigger venues (read: stuff you’re paid what you’re worth!) someday. I think more people would be successful reading your stuff than all of these fad diets. Sorry I’m rambling! :-) Thanks again!

      Reply

  3. Becky
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 19:49:05

    Hello. I visited your blog due to a Facebook post from It’s Not a Diet – It’s Your Life. I LOVE the name of your blog! Stumbling towards health describes what I’ve been going through! Good luck on your journey.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

