August Accomplishments, September Goals

In August I have burned over 15,000 calories working out. I didn’t add up number of minutes, but I’ll do that tonight and update this post. I conquered 20 miles on my bike and just barely started running again. I only lost .2 pounds weight-wise, but 2.2 pounds in fat. I know I can do better than that, but the scale’s become an obsessive demon for me, making or breaking my day. And when it breaks it, I have a hard time doing well that day. So in September, weight doesn’t matter! Muscle does!

My September goal is strength training three times a week, and two days of some type of cardio. I think this is going to be the way I start to see the changes I want in my body. I have been putting of strength training because it makes me retain water (which means the next day or two my weight’s up, thus ruining my day). Rather than weight, I’m focusing on reducing body fat percentage. My scale keeps track in a general format (the body fat percentage is somehow related to water percentage, which is never the same). This morning my body fat percentage was 37.9%. It was 42.3% at the start in December, so it’s only moved 4.4%. But that’s movement! I want this number to be 35% or less by October 1st.

That’s it. That’s my one goal for September. I realize I’m putting running on the back burner by making this my first priority. I intend to keep running, but I found myself dreading and procrastinating, so I figured maybe now isn’t the best time for me to be doing it if my body’s resisting that much when it’s not resisting bike rides and workout videos. So when I feel like running, I will. Otherwise, any cardio will do on the other two days. And since I’ll be strength training, yoga will be key. I’d like to do yoga at least twice a week. Get in what you like, right?

Here’s the plan:

  • 35% body fat or less by October 1st
  • Strength training 3 times a week
  • Cardio 2 times a week
  • Yoga 2 times a week

And I can blend the workouts if I want, doing cardio and strength one day, or adding yoga one day. This will give me, if I’m motivated, up to two days off per week. Any more than that and I lose motivation. But two full days off will be nice. I expect to be sore!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Pushups – Challenge Extended « Stumbling Toward Health

Leave a Reply

