Squats, Calves and Mobility – April 7th Workout

Yesterday’s workout was:

  • 30 minutes of walking
  • Lots of calf stretching
  • Calf strengthening using this article as a guideline (minus the sled). Really feeling the burn, especially on the standing calf raises.
  • More calf stretching and some hip mobility
  • Squat to Box:
    • 3 sets of 5 at 95lbs
    • 1 set of 10 at 95lbs
    • 1 set of 5 at 135lbs
  • Did more calf and hip stretching then laid on a rolled up towel for about 10 minutes. The rolled up towel goes near the bottom of my thoracic spine, where I apparently have a curve I shouldn’t. For the first time, this felt really good.

Squats
I felt most limited whiles squatting by my back. I’ve been working with a sports chiro (who does ART) on my upper back and along my spine. My upper back felt really loose, but along my spine felt like the sticking point to get in better form. So I was kind of pushing forward a little. I’m going to call out that spot to the sports chiro. He’s pretty good at working on specific spots as long as I can tell him where it hurt. And see if he has any sort of mobility work I can do before squatting to get a better stretch.

But the good news is, I feel like I’m using less momentum to get up once I’m down, which was the problem I’d noticed the most and wasn’t sure how to fix.

Next time:

  • I’m going to get to the box, come just barely up, hover, then come all the way up.
  • Then work a little on the bottom ROM (near the box). I’ll move up and down in a small ROM near the box.
  • Right now I’m working with a 14″ box, and would love to graduate to a 12″ box soon. So maybe I’ll try some air squats with a 12″ box, and see how I do with the bar.

Walking/Calves
I’m continuing to walk in 10-15 minute increments at work, doing a short, slow uphill climb at the end of each walk followed by a good calf stretch. I’m working toward increasing speed and adding in random hills. My right calf is currently the only one really cramping while walking. But I’m stretching both left and right after the walk. I can definitely feel this improvement when I squat. And hope once I get the right leg worked out, it’ll really help squatting. And I want to get a walk/run in at least twice this week. Maybe one I’ll do jog increments. And one I’ll do sprint increments.

Blood Pressure
Blood pressure was 140/97 last night. That’s a good improvement of the top number (which is sometimes in the 150s), but as bad as the bottom number ever is (it sometimes falls into the high 80s). But I’m hpoefully improvement is improvement!

 

Leave a Reply

