Breaking the Fast

I made it into but not through the twelfth day of my fast. And honestly, mental frustration won. I was sick of feeling sick to my stomach every day at 3:00 into the evening. No idea why that time, but when I’m in training sessions until 4:30, it was really taxing and all I could think about. Today’s nausea was the worst it’s been beyond end of last week. 

I also mowed my lawn last night because it needed done. I felt fine during, but after my shower my lower back muscles cramped up. And I’ll be honest, that freaked me out. They weren’t just sore, they were seized up. Not like my back went out. All muscle. It sounds silly, but I felt like that was the sign to quit but felt too awful to get to the store, so I decided to wait until tonight and end it tonight or tomorrow. I was terrified to eat at work in case my stomach revolted. I’m pretty sure it was electrolyte related, despite drinking electrolyte water ever couple of days (which gave me stomach upset and gas). I didn’t want to take more, and after today’s nausea, decided it was time. 

I went shopping after work and probably bought the best spread of fruits, veggies and dairy I’ve ever bought. I’ll buy some protein this weekend. 

Tonight I ate the tiniest meal I’ve ever eaten. About 1/4 of a cup of roasted (under a broiler) zucchini and squash. And about two strawberries and 1/4 of a banana. 

I was under the impression food would taste delicious, but without the natural return of hunger many get, and the nausea, I shouldn’t be surprised it didn’t. The banana didn’t taste great, but it’s what I wanted the most – I assume for the potassium. I wasn’t excited to eat more fruit than veggies, or really any fruit at all. But I had to start somewhere. 

Tomorrow for lunch, if I’m hungry, I’ll eat a banana and maybe some cucumber slices with salt. I’m anxious to try some fat, and think a banana and peanut butter sounds delicious, but want to wait for dinner. I have a mashed potato soup that’s pretty basic (potassium!). Maybe sprinkled with a tiny bit of shaved parmesan to start dairy again. And I’ll either have some avocado or a banana with peanut butter to get into some fat. 

I’m really craving a salad so if cucumbers go well, I’ll do a very simple salad with lettuce, cucumbers, carrots, and maybe a small amount of shredded cheese with a vinegar and oil seasoned dressing. And I’ll try a small amount of my homemade lower carb yogurt with…. Something to sweeten it. It’s really tart. Like eating sour cream. I guess I could go savory? I’ll figure it out! 

If that goes well, on Sunday I’ll have the REAL salad I want, same ingredients plus avocado, some chicken and my low carb ranch dressing. I want to move into low carb semi-quickly. So if chicken and ranch go well, I’ll add in a low-carb cauliflower soup that has dairy with a side of protein. 

If that goes well, on Monday I might try stuff a bit more spicy.  Maybe some grilled protein, sauted onions, salsa, avocados, and yogurt (plain so it’s basically sour cream). And some roasted broccoli to get higher fiber.  And maybe I’ll consider a stir fry of some kind. If I get here, I’ll be mostly back to eating normal, and hopefully working out. If that’s true, I’ll stay low carb and do 16:8 intermittent fasting. 

The less healthy foods I’m craving, but am not sure I’d even eat if they were in front of me:

  • Pizza
  • Sandwiches with lots of mayo or italian dressing 
  • Fries
  • Fried mozzarella sticks
  • Spicy chicken tenders
  • Toast with a variety of different toppings: peanut butter, or cinnamon sugar, or jelly
  • A variety of Chinese, Mexican and Italian food 
  • And basically anything bready with gooey-ness on top

I think I miss the textures of those foods. 

My other big plans: lift weights! I miss having no stamina. Simple things made me winded. So hopefully work on running soon. And simply building strength. 

Other than that, I lost 18 pounds in 11ish days. At the beginning I lost fast. Then 2ish pounds a day that slowly dropped to about 1.2 this morning. I only felt great one day of the fast. I felt way better energy and focus wise most of the time than I expected. I was surprised by how wiped I got doing things like changing clothes, bending over, even talking after walking across the room. I had some decent nausea about five days, mostly in afternoons. I think I killed my electrolyte balance. I didn’t sleep great probably 75% of the time. And… I only measure seven places on my body, my trouble spots (four are below my breasts and above my hips). And I lost zero inches in those. None. Another reason I decided I needed to get back to lifting and sleeping better. I can see loss in my top, but not in the breasts or immediate waist area, it seems above the breasts?? And I see water loss in my hands and ankles. 

Overall, it’s my longest fast by more than double. I’m glad I did it because it’s empowering knowing you don’t have to eat. I feel like I dealt with some of my emotional eating and felt my root problem became cravings, which I’m starting a dopamine-related supplement to try to counter. 

I want to move forward with intermittent fasting (16:8, for example) and maybe 24-36 hour fasts once a week or so. I also want to do lower carb most of the time, with occasional planned cheat meals. Meaning less emotional and craving related and less often. 

I’ll be interested to see how much weight I gain back if I transition to low carb and lift and do some cardio..With my last fasts, I gained around 2 back but dropped them back in a few weeks with exercise and sort fasting…. Then stalled.  I’ll post in a week or so about that. 

Leave a Reply

